The first Fort Nisqually was completed in 1833 by the Hudson's Bay Company for fur trading and farming on a bluff about Puget Sound in what is now DuPont, Washington. The fort was moved to a site with better access to fresh water in 1843. In 1869 the United States purchased the site and sold parcels to pioneers. In 1934 a service group moved the last remaining buildings to Point Defiance Park in Tacoma and reconstructed the fort there. The granary is the oldest building in Washington. The factor's house (a factor was an agent for the company) was built in 1855 and renovated a few years ago. The only features still remaining at the 1843 site in DuPont are black locust trees planted from seeds brought from England. Original photos and drawings are on the DuPont Museum site: http://www.dupontmuseum.com/PhotoAlbum.aspx?id=2.